Coconut, Pecan, and Oatmeal Drop Cookies

My Daily Pastry - Oatmeal, Pecan, and Coconut Drop Cookies

My final product!

I usually always make cookies with chocolate chips (I love Love LOVE chocolate!), so I’ve been trying to experiment with non-chocolate cookies! Coconut and oatmeal seemed like an interesting combination, and there were also pecans in the recipe, which I loved.

Per my usual, I used less butter (cut in half), sugar (half), and added in wheat flour (1/2 wheat, 1/2 ap flour). And my good ol’ fork is still my best friend in this process!

Ingredients (modified from original)
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup (not packed) light brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup wheat flour
2 cups shredded coconut
1 cup chopped walnuts or pecans
2 cups old-fashioned oatmeal

My Daily Pastry - Coconut and Oatmeal Cookies - creaming butter with fork

Using my mad skills to cream butter with a fork! The things I do for baking.

Directions

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease 2 large cookie sheets (I almost skipped this step – do not! The cookies will definitely stick if you don’t). Cream butter and sugars in mixer until light and fluffy. Add eggs, beat together. Add vanilla, baking powder and baking soda.

My Daily Pastry - Coconut, Pecan, and Oatmeal Cookies - mixing oatmeal and coconutThen add the flour. Mix until well combined. Stir in coconut and nuts. Mix in oatmeal.

My Daily Pastry - Coconut, Pecan, and Oatmeal Cookies 3Drop on greased cookie sheets by the tsp., spacing about 1/2 inch apart. These cookies spread a little, but not a lot. I’d say 1/2 inch is generous, and if you’d like to squeeze more onto a sheet, you can get away with less than 1/2 inch. Bake 12 minutes, just until the edges begin to brown. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

My Daily Pastry - Coconut, Pecan, and Oatmeal Drop Cookies

The final product!

Original recipe/directions: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/coconut-and-oatmeal-drop-cookies-recipe/index.html?ic1=obinsite

2 thoughts on “Coconut, Pecan, and Oatmeal Drop Cookies

Leave a Reply

