Thyme and Cheese Popover

My Daily Pastry - Thyme and Cheese Popover

So delicious! Morning breakfast, yumminess.

I made regular popovers before, and as usual, I could not help modifying the original recipe. I had some extra mozzarella cheese, so I dumped some in! They didn’t turn out as fluffy as the regular ones, but they were still light and very tasty. They seemed to sink faster than than the regular ones.

Ingredients (I did a half batch)

  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter, melted, plus more for greasing tin
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups milk
  • 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese (you can substitute in any other kind of cheese that you have on hand)
  • 1 teaspoon thyme (to sprinkle on each popover)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Lightly grease and flour a popover tin.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour and salt. In a separate medium bowl, whisk together eggs, milk, and 1 tablespoon melted butter. I used soy milk (that’s all I had), and it didn’t seem to work just fine.
  3. Pour over flour mixture, and fold until just blended. Mix in cheese
  4. Fill the popover cups two-thirds to three-quarters full. My half batch made 4 popovers when using a regular muffin.
  5. Transfer tin to oven, and bake for 15 minutes. Reduce the temperature to 350 degrees, and bake until well browned and crusty, about 15 minutes. Remove popovers from the oven, and unmold onto a rack. Mine were sticking to the muffin tins. Puncture the sides with a sharp knife to let steam escape (I didn’t puncture because they were already deflating), and serve immediately. I most definitely consumed it immediately though!
2 thoughts on “Thyme and Cheese Popover

Leave a Reply

