Healthy Cornbread with Green/Red Peppers

My Daily Pastry - Healthy Cornbread with Green and Red Peppers

Healthy Cornbread with Green and Red Peppers

I feel like I begin every blogpost with “this was delicious!” But not gonna lie…these were delicious! I love hiding wheat flour and veggies into baked goods – it makes me feel like I’m eating junk food, but still getting some vitamins! At work today my co-workers were talking about the trials and tribulations of making possibly one of the easiest baked goods on earth – cornbread. But of course we all manage to mess up this “easy” recipe. Well, I decided to try my hand at it, and voila! Yummy. The first time I baked this, I used 1 cup cornmeal and 1 cup wheat flour. This time, I reduced the wheat flour to 1/2 cup and cornmeal to 1.5 cups, so that the cornbread was more cornbread-y, and yellow, instead of brownish yellow. C’est parfait! The cheese and veggies makes this cornbread moist, and the 20 min. of baking will give it a nice brown outside, but soft interior. YUM. Wait, did I just use the word “yum” twice (no thrice) in a paragraph? Awesome.

Ingredients
1/2 cup coconut oil
1/4 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 cup soy milk (can use buttermilk)
2 tsp lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1.5 cup cornmeal
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup grated cheese (any kind – I used a 3-cheese blend)
1/2 green pepper (diced)
1/2 red pepper (diced)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a muffin tin, or other baking pan.
  2. Mix coconut oil and sugar. Beat eggs in until well blended. Combine soy milk + lemon juice (or buttermilk) with baking soda and stir into oil/sugar mixture.
  3. Dice green and red peppers. Mix in peppers and grated cheese with liquid mixture.
  4. Stir in cornmeal, flour, and salt until well blended and few lumps remain. Pour batter into the prepared pan.
  5. Bake in the preheated oven for 17-20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. I liked mine on the browner/drier side, so I baked for 20 minutes. That’s up to you.
  6. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

